The Kannada cinema anniversary was celebrated on Friday at Town Hall where Minister for Housing M Krishnappa gave away annual awards to 14 distinguished filmmakers and artistes.

Speaking on the occasion, Karnataka Film Academy chairman S V Rajendra Singh Babu said, “The state government has given its consent to set up a Film City at Mysuru. At least 100 acres of land will be required to provide accommodation to artistes. Krishnappa has directed the deputy commissioner of the district to speed up the acquisition process. The work should start at the earliest.”

Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce president Sa Ra Govindu rued that artistes have set aside ethics and have focused only on making money.


R Nagendra Rao Award – G K Srinivasamurthy; M V Rajamma Award – Advani Lakshmi Devi; T S Balakrishna Award – M S Umesh; Thoogudeepa Srinivasa Award – S Doddanna; D Shankar Singh Award – C Jayaram; B Jayamma Award – Kumar Shettar; N Veeraswamy Award – Pal S Chandani; G V Iyer Award – B K Sumitra; Hunasuru Krishnamurthy Award – B L Venu; B S Ranga Award – S V Srikanth; Pandari Bai Award – B V Radha; M P Shankar Award – Devi; Shankar Nag Award – N L Ramanna; K N Taylor Award – Ram Shetty. These awards carry a purse of Rs 50,000, a memento and certificates.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s